Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Ed's Ziroli B-25 Build

Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Ed's Ziroli B-25 Build

Old 02-03-2013, 07:26 AM
bigE
My Feedback: (25)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ed's Ziroli B-25 Build

Hello all! After much research and soul searching I decided my next project will be the Ziroli 101" B-25. Threads here and a few other sites have been incredibly helpful to me so I decided to give back a little and document my own..

A little about me- I have been building and flying for about 25 years, many many kits, but this will only be my second build from plans. First was a 35% Extra 300 that I just finished but i have a feeling this will be quite a bit more challenging. Totally different building techniques that will be a first for me.. Strip planking, fiberglassing, etc.. Please feel free to jump in and provide recommendations as I go! So off we go...

PLANS
I ordered the plans straight from Ziroli's web site on a Wednesday night and they were on my door step Friday. Wicked fast turnaround. $70 but they sure are nice. One funny thing is that right on the plans it says they stock the Robarts for around $375- Hard to believe that now they cost almost $600!

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1860.jpg
Views:	1585
Size:	88.6 KB
ID:	2235767

WOOD
I dont have the time to cut all my own stuff so I decided to have a kit cut. After some research I chose National Balsa since (a.) I have ordered wood from them in the past and it was good stuff, and (b.) they seemed to have some pretty good reviews. So the order was placed. I'm assuming they must keep some kits in stock because the box showed up in only three days! My only gripes so far is that some of the balsa is pretty heavy (particularly the blocks) and some of the parts were burned more than normal from the cutting process. more to follow on that..

Click image for larger version