Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Marutaka/Royal Sr. 60 Scratch Build Thread

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Marutaka/Royal Sr. 60 Scratch Build Thread

Old 09-23-2020, 04:18 AM
i.RIDE_H0ndA

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Marutaka/Royal Sr. 60 Scratch Build Thread

Hi all. My name is Chris, I'm 48, I live in SW FL and was a pipe welder/fabricator/millwright by trade.
This is my first build over 34" ws. My two previous attempts were Guillow's Spitfire and the Corsair as static displays that I never got around to finishing. I was young, 14 or so when I started building. But, hunting, fishing, trapping, cars and girls (not necessarily in that order) had pushed balsa building to the back of my mind for over 3 decades now. I've recently become disabled and I now have an inordinate amount of free time. So, here goes. Let me know if any of this is redundant. I plan on making a build thread here and doing a build video series for YT and IG. These are all firsts for me but with some help from the wife and daughter, I hope to share info that could help some other noob down the road.
I found the plans online Outerzone and studied them for a few hours. Initially, I was concerned about the cowl availability due the original being spun aluminum. But I located one at Fiberglass Specialties.com
It's the correct size, unfortunately it isn't provisioned for cowl flaps. I'm going to make them and they will be functional. Two canopies were bought on eBay and they look they're the correct scale. I just picked up the Saito FA-120R3 on Amazon with a 25% off coupon. Saved some coin there!. I'm looking into Robart retracts. I'm an absolute novice when it comes to electronics so I will be asking a ton of questions. I've had two sets of plans printed at my local print shop. Made my first of hopefully many orders @ National Balsa, it will be here Friday!